In focus: GCMA 2023 Awards categories

Do you know a GCMA member who deserves recognition for their contribution to their club or the wider industry? The 2023 awards include three new categories, but the first triumvirate of honours remain the same as the most recent ceremony, held at the association's 2021 Conference. Two years ago, Bognor Regis' James Maclean strode to the stage to claim the Manager of the Year award, exclaiming: 'I am incredibly proud. The support I’ve received from members of this club, friends, colleagues, and colleagues at other golf clubs is overwhelming. I’ve had hundreds of emails and messages and it’s a real honour. I’m very proud of the GCMA and I’m proud to be their Manager of the Year. Hopefully I can do it justice.' For this year's edition, the judges are looking for the following achievement areas: Team Management Member Communication Financial Performance Member Experience Visitor Experience Managing Upwards GCMA Engagement Personal Development/Education Louis Booth was gracious in his surprise at collecting the Newcomer of the Year award, saying: 'I’m obviously delighted. It’s always nice to get recognition but the bigger picture for me is this is massively about the team and how everyone’s pulled together.' To follow in Louis' footsteps, nominees must demonstrate: Team Management Member Communication Financial Performance Successful Completed Project Member Experience Change Management/Governance GCMA Engagement Personal Development / Education The management team of Seacroft, led by Susan Turner, picked up the Team of the Year gong, telling us: 'It’s obviously something we have to live up to and that presents its own challenges. We have to keep going and try and do things even better. But it’s a really good thing for the club and us personally.' Any team hoping to be in with a shout of claiming this year's honour will need to have shown achievement in: Food and Beverage Achievement Pro Shop / Coaching Achievement Greenkeeping Achievement Projects Delivered Teamwork – evidence of crossdepartmental co-operation Member Experience Visitor Experience GCMA Engagement of the GM Personal Development / Education of all team members More details of each of the categories, along with the application criteria and process, can be found in the GCMA Awards pack. Nominations can be submitted until July 31. Click here to download the GCMA Awards 2023 pack
This is member only content

Please LOGIN to read the full article.

Not a member? Please click here to join today.

More from GCMA News