In focus: New GCMA 2023 Awards categories

Do you know a GCMA member who deserves recognition for their contribution to their club or the wider industry? In addition to Manager, Newcomer and Team of the Year, the 2023 awards include three new categories, designed to acknowledge teamwork, personal development and contribution to the GCMA community and the industry as a whole.

As an association we believe this is a great step forward and provides a wonderful opportunity to celebrate not just the outstanding personal achievements that so many of our members demonstrate every day, but also some of the incredible work that goes on within the association as a whole and the many successes that our members have had throughout their careers in so many different ways.

In this article, we look at each of the new categories in more detail and what the judging panel will be looking for.

Support Manager of the Year

This category will reward anybody in a managerial role below the rank of general manager or CEO.

The judges are looking for the following achievement areas:

  • Level of delegation of work to the nominee by their general manager
  • Level of independent work undertaken
  • Staff management
  • Member and customer service delivery
  • Projects undertaken
  • Personal development / Education

Lifetime Achievement (for achievement within general management roles at golf clubs)

This award should recognise the outstanding management and leadership of an individual throughout their career and in particular their role as a golf club manager or equivalent. This should be awarded only when a truly worthy candidate is identified and not necessarily on an annual basis.

This award will recognise the individual who best represents achievement and longevity. The award acknowledges the winner’s sustained achievements within the golf industry during a distinguished career. Eligible nominees are those who have been actively involved in the golf industry for at least 20 years and must be a member of the GCMA in any category.

During this period the individual should have shown outstanding leadership characteristics throughout their career inspiring others to achieve similar success. Achievements should be evidence based and amongst other qualities include business excellence, sustainability, innovation, flexibility, profitability and customer service.

GCMA Outstanding Contribution Award

This award recognises a GCMA member who has demonstrated and been recognised by the industry and / or Association for going above and beyond with their involvement with other aspects of the industry, their colleagues or the Association.

This award should be to highlight the positive impact made by the individual and does not have to be
limited just to the one year period between conferences / annual awards dinner. In fact, given the nature
of the award, it is more than likely that the contributions made by the individual have been over a much
longer period of time. It would be preferable and more impactful if the process allowed for a level of secrecy so that those nominated don’t know until the night of the awards.

More details of each of the categories, along with the application criteria and process, can be found in the GCMA Awards pack. Nominations can be submitted until August 31.

Click here to download the GCMA Awards 2023 pack

By GCMA Content Team

More from GCMA News