GCMA 2019 Club Management Awards nominees announced

The prestigious GCMA Golf Club Management Awards recognise excellence in golf club management, and the 2019 edition will recognise the outstanding work going on at golf clubs, and acknowledge all key personnel who are working together to ensure the successful operation of the club. 

There are three Awards to be won, and and we’re delighted to announce the shortlisted nominees:

Manager of the Year sponsored by intelligentgolf
  • Stephen Nicholson Haydock Park
  • Heather Mulley Enville
  • Karl Adams Radcliffe on Trent
  • Adam Grint Gerrards Cross
Newcomer of the Year sponsored by Fortress Wealth Partnership
First golf club management job, and in post for less than two years.
  • Kerry Alligan-Smith Redditch
  • Fame Tate Stanedge
Team of the Year sponsored by Biral
This is for the Club manager and at least two from course manager, club professional, bar steward or food and beverage manager.
  • Chigwell GC led by Ben Driver
  • Llanishen GC led by Martin Stevens

Nominations for each of the award categories could be put forward by anybody who knew of a person or a team, that deserved to be recognised for their achievements.

The rigorous process, from shortlisting to nominating the finalists will take 3 months, with all the nominees being narrowed down through personal interviews, secondary discussions and reviews following specific judging guidelines.

The final stage of selection will see three industry experts complete the judging process with a site visit in the autumn. Then an intense Apprentice-style interview will take place in front of the judging panel after which the winners will be chosen for each category.

GCMA CEO Bob Williams said, “Judging the Club Management Awards is always a tricky, but enjoyable, process. It’s always brilliant to hear about the fantastic work that’s going on around the country, and to hear that our members’ work is being acknowledged and appreciated by their colleagues and around their golf clubs. The quality of nominees was as high as ever, and whittling down a shortlist is never easy. Everyone who received a nomination should be proud, and congratulations, and good luck, to all the shortlisted nominees.”

The 2017 Manager of the Year was Amy Yeates, with Pyle & Kenfig picking up Team of the Year, and Gordon MacLeod being crowned Newcomer of the Year.

The 2019 awards ceremony will be held at the biannual GCMA Conference, held from 10-12 November 2019 at De Vere Cotswold Water Park.


By Mike Hyde

More from GCMA News